Cod in coconut milk & pak choi

I was dreaming of this tilapia, wrapped in pechay and boiled in coconut milk. I had it a long time ago, at an eatery near the Manila Observatory inside Ateneo DMU. I can’t duplicate it, of course, but here’s the nearest (and easiest–>read: laziest) I came up with to satisfy a craving.

Ingredients:
1 clove garlic (minced)
1-inch ginger (minced)
1 onion (julienned)
1 tin of coconut milk (drained of water)
salt & pepper
2 cod fillets
Thai/fish sauce
2 bunches pak choi (cut the stems and separate)

Procedure:

  1. Layer a skillet with the alliums, salt and pepper, then the coconut milk. Place the fish on top and drizzle with some fish sauce. Cover and cook over medium heat.
  2. When the tinned coconut milk has melted and the fish almost cooked, add the pak choi stems. After 5 minutes, add the leaves. Wait for 1 minute after the leaves have wilted–then give them a gentle stir to submerge the leaves in the coconut milk.
  3. Cover again for a minute or two, then turn off the stove.
  4. Serve over a bed of rice.

I also dissolved some jaggery goor (panutsa) in a small amount of boiling water, added some sliced sweet potatoes, and a couple of minutes before turning off the stove–added a spoonful of coconut milk which I saved before using the lot in the fish dish above. You may add vanilla, or in my case–pandan essence.

Share your thoughts