Malay laksa (Instant! Sort of)

Malay laksa06

Malay laksa 00Previously I showed you a box of seasonings that my friend gave me.  The box came with 4 sets of stock, spices and garnishing–and corresponding recipes.  The first one I tried is Malay laksa.

Malay laksa 000I provided the chicken, olive oil, butternut squash, coconut milk and rice noodles (the recipe also called for asparagus, but I didn’t have them so I used sugar snap peas instead).  Then I checked the ingredients that went into the ready-made flavours and here they are:

Malay laksa04ginger
garlic
chili
onion
turmeric
lemongrass
anchovy essence
lime juice
rosemary
basil
coriander leaves
mint
dessicated coconut

Hah! Easy! We can make it ourselves, can’t we? 🙂

4 responses to “Malay laksa (Instant! Sort of)

    • Tasted great too (no artificial taste)! ‘Just couldn’t get my head around why I needed to scoop the seasonings from the little pots when I could have smashed those spices on my chopping board in less than 5 minutes 🙂 But I’m not complaining–as it’s a present from a thoughtful and loving friend, and I did enjoy the meal 🙂

Share your thoughts

