Malay lamb korma

I previously shared with you a recipe for Malaysian curry powder (from BBC Food).  Now here’s what I used it for–Malay lamb korma, also from BBC Food, but I just modified a bit.

lambkorma4_cookingflip

Ingredients:
vegetable oil or ghee for sauteing (est 2 tbsp)
500g lamb leg (cut into cubes–but I chucked the slices with the bones)
1 clove garlic (crushed then minced)
1/2 inch ginger (grated–but I just sliced them thinly)
2 onions (julienned)
1.5 tbsp Malaysian curry powder
1 tsp chili powder
salt (to taste)
1/2 tsp saffron strands (I skipped this as I didn’t have any–too expensive!)
1 cinnamon stick
water (enough to cover the meat)
110g cashew nuts (blended to a paste–but I just pounded them in a mortar and pestle)
2 tomatoes (quartered)
250ml yoghurt

To serve–2 tbsp chopped fresh coriander (I didn’t have any), and rice (of course!)

Procedure:
1. Heat oil in a wok/pot and sear the lamb–then push to the side (or you may do this in a separate pot and saute the spices in a different one).
2. In the middle of the wok/pot, saute the garlic, ginger, onion.
3. Add the Malaysian curry powder and chili powder for 1-2 minutes.
4. Add salt to taste.
5. Mix the spices with the lamb (bring them back to the centre!).
6. Stir in the saffron strands (if you do have any).
7. Then the cinnamon stick.
8. Add water just enough to cover the meat.  Cover, let boil then simmer.
9. When the meat is cooked, add the cashew paste.
10. Then the tomatoes.
11. When the tomatoes are limp, you can stir in the yoghurt 1-2 minutes before you turn off the stove–or you can do this to serve.

lambkorma3_cookingflip

3 responses to “Malay lamb korma

    • I would need more patience and diligence for anything complicated! But you would need time to make this–well, for the korma powder, that is (which, you can do in advance). But all worth it 🙂

  1. Pingback: Pulses with lamb & curry powder | Cooking Filipino in the UK·

Share your thoughts