Mango muffins

This was originally mango bread by Shiran of Pretty.Simple.Sweet.  But because I could be impatient, and wanted to save some energy, I just poured the mixture into muffin tins.

mangomuffin2_cookingflipI followed all of Shiran’s proportions (listed below).  This is less sweet than the treats you would get from the shops, but I would still try to half the sugar next time (just my preference).  I’ll probably also add another cup of mango.  When I do I’ll let you know any difference in texture.

Ingredients:
250 grams plain flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
6 tbsps white sugar
6 tbsps Demerara sugar
1 large egg
1 cup buttermilk (or, put 1 tbsp of white vinegar or lemon juice in a cup, top up with milk until it fills the cup; stir and leave for 5 minutes)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 tbsps honey
½ tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp grated lemon zest (optional—I didn’t include this)
1 cup mangoes (cubed)

Procedure:
1. Sift flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt and cinnamon.
2. Add sugars.  Mix.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, buttermilk, oil, honey, vanilla and lemon zest.
4. Slowly combine the wet into the dry ingredients.
5. Fold in the mango cubes.
6. Pour the batter into the greased muffin trays (makes 24) or paper cups.
7. Bake in the oven pre-heated to 175C for 15 minutes (I used a fan oven) or until they’re brown at the top.

mangomuffin3_cookingflip

6 responses to “Mango muffins

  1. Hi Cookingflip, I follow your blog and like your recipes. I am a food lover. My current blog is jinninabottle.wordpress.com which you are already following. I just started recently and by now I have received extremely good response. For future growth I just have migrated to another address jinninabottle.blogspot.com. I am going to post there everything related to food. I had reblogged one of your awesome recipes and in future I am going to reblog some more.Also I am going to give a link leading to your blog in that. Please check out the blog and i will be more than happy if you follow me there. Thank you.

Share your thoughts

