Ukoy (butternut squash fritters)

IMG_5952

Ukoy or okoy, as I remember it, is a combination of shredded squash, mung bean sprouts, onions and dried and salted shrimps.  I have tried this several times–unsuccessfully, but I finally found the right proportion of flour, cornstarch, egg and baking powder to make it fluff.

You can use all the ingredients I’ve mentioned above, but for the list below I’m only including what I had.

Ingredients:
oil for frying
1 medium-sized butternut squash (shredded or sliced v. thinly into strips)
1 shallot (julienned)
3 spring onions (sliced thinly into rings)
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 egg
salt & pepper to taste

Procedure:
1. Mix all the ingredients together.
2. Heat oil, fry a spoonful or two at a time (flattened so as to cook evenly and get that crisp!)

This is very addictive–don’t eat too much!


Post note: ‘Found more pix among my folders–these ones have mung bean sprouts, and I put them under the grill after frying.

12 responses to “Ukoy (butternut squash fritters)

  1. Ooh, its like you read my mind. We had a neighbour give us a butternut squash from their garden and I was wondering what we are going to do with it (not enough for soup). Fritters are an excellent idea!

    • It’s one of our traditional snacks. But it was like an occasional treat–I guess shredding the raw pumpkin/squash is too much work, lol.

Share your thoughts