Escabeche (fish escabeche)

Oh I’ve always loved this–the mingling of sweet, sour and salty tastes!  This was one dish that made me voluntarily finish my meal when I was a child!

Ingredients:
4 medium-large slabs of fish (fried, but I used baked cod; you could use any whole fish too)
olive oil for sauteing
3 cloves garlic (minced)
2-inch ginger (thinly sliced)
1 red onion (julienned)
½  each of green and red capsicum (julienned)
½ cup sugar cane or coconut vinegar
4 tbsps of Demerara sugar
salt & pepper to taste

For this dish I also added:
1 long chilli (chopped into small bits)
1/3 leek (thinly sliced into rings)
1/3 carrot (slivers)

Procedure:
1. Saute garlic and ginger in olive oil; add onion.
2. Add the rest of the vegetables (one by one!)
3. Pour the vinegar. Cover and let simmer.
4. Add the sugar.
5. When sauce starts to thicken, lay the fish gently on the skillet. Then flip over gently after a few minutes for the other side to absorb some flavours as well.

2 responses to “Escabeche (fish escabeche)

Share your thoughts