Chicken soup (with star pasta and dumplings)

chickensoup2_cookingflip

I defrosted my freezer today so lots of food had to go.  I had wrinkly capsicums and carrot, and bits of coriander that could still be used from the bunch I had.  I had also already slow-cooked 3 chicken thighs overnight, but I used only two of them here.  So what I came up with is a sort of chicken soup–NOT Filipino, just using what ingredients I have to hand.

(I’ll follow this post with another on how to make the dumplings.)

Ingredientssoupboiling_cookingflip
oil for sauteing
3 cloves garlic (minced)
1 large onion (julienned)
½ red capsicum (minced)
½ carrot (thinly sliced)
3 sticks celery (thinly sliced)
2 slow-cooked chicken thighs (in chunks, skinless and de-boned before going into the soup)
chicken stock (est. 2 litres)
10 small handfuls star pasta
16 small dumplings
handful of coriander (chopped)

Procedure
1. Saute garlic, onion and capsicum
2. Add carrots, then celery
3. Add chicken, chicken stock and fish/Thai sauce to taste. Let boil.
4. Add star pasta and dumplings
5. When pasta and dumplings are cooked, add pepper and coriander, stir, and turn off the stove.

How you could improve on my recipe:
chickensoup1_cookingflipI slow-cooked the chicken with the bones and skin (I didn’t add them in the soup though) and wished I didn’t with the latter when I saw the fat in my stock!  But I got the natural chicken flavour and didn’t have to use a stock cube 🙂

Share your thoughts

