Gina’s galletas

IMG_6515

I got this recipe from another blogger–Gina of Gina’s Joys.  It’s her mom’s recipe really, but for my easy reference I’ll just call it Gina’s galletas.  I love this!  Very tasty (just salt, no sugar), very soft, very filling, very easy to make, and it keeps!  Mine lasted 5 days just in an air-tight box on the counter (please bear in mind as well that I’m in the UK and it’s fall), and I just microwaved it for 10-15 seconds every time I wanted one.

Ingredients:
2 cups plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup shortening (I used lard as she’s mentioned lard somewhere in her post)
3/4 cup milk

Procedure:
IMG_65171. Sift flour, baking powder and salt (actually, I skipped the sifting part and just put them all together but made sure to mix well).
2. Cut in the shortening until the mixture resembles bread crumbs (I just used fork as my tool).
3. Stir and pour in milk while doing this.
4. Stir until dough is coming off the sides of the bowl.
5. Toss dough onto a floured surface and knead for 1 to 2 minutes.
6. Divide into 8, roll into spheres, flatten to make 1/8-inch thick round sheets and fold over in half.
7. Poke holes on each galleta dough with a fork (3 light stabs should be enough), then glaze with egg white.
8. Transfer to a thick baking sheet (UN-greased–yayyy!) and bake for 10-13 minutes in an oven pre-heated to 230C.

My mistake and how I rectified it: I should have used a roasting tin as the oven was too hot and my baking sheet was flimsy it started warping! I lowered the heat to 210C (I also suddenly remembered that my oven is a fan oven), and left the galletas to cook for a few more minutes.

Share your thoughts