Chicken afritada

img_4454

Ingredients:
oil for sauteing
3 cloves garlic (minced)
1 onion (julienned)
1 large red capsicum (julienned)–I used green as that was the only one I had
4-6 fresh tomatoes (or tinned will do)
2 bay leaves
6 pieces chicken (previously seared or not–up to you!)
3 potatoes (halved)
1 large carrot (cut into thick sticks or chunks)
1/3 cup garden peas
salt, pepper and fish/Thai sauce to taste

Post Note: I previously did not have bay leaves among the ingredients, but I emailed back home and they said there should be!

Procedure:
1. Saute garlic and onion.
2. Add capsicum and fry.
3. Add sliced tomatoes until juice starts running.
4. Add bay leaves and chicken. Cover. When blood no longer runs from the chicken…
5. Add potatoes. Cover. When potatoes are cooked…
6. Add salt and fish/Thai sauce, then carrots and peas. Cover. When cooked…
7. Add pepper.

Tip: I usually do not add fish/Thai sauce at the end–I add it when I know I would be covering the pot for some time otherwise it will make your kitchen stink!

img_4457

6 responses to “Chicken afritada

Share your thoughts

