Lamb chop masala (Vicky Bhogal’s)

IMG_7764I made this twice already, but I realised that I don’t have a good picture.  These ones I got were eaten with rice and cauliflower rice (the latter doesn’t really count as “rice” but vegetables)–not really presentable.  The second batch I made was served to guests so I felt embarrassed to take a picture.  But I need to post this here anyway for my reference in the future.

I didn’t follow instructions to the last detail as I’m lazy, but here’s the link to Vicky’s post.

Ingredients
groundnut oil for sauteing
2 teaspoons grated fresh root ginger (pound with a mortar & pestle, adding a pinch of salt in the process)
2 teaspoons chopped garlic
1/2 teaspoon red chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
6 lamb chops or cutlets
4-5 tomatoes (chopped thinly)
Himalayan or sea salt to taste

Just before turning off the stove, add…
2 tablespoons grated fresh root ginger
25g (1 oz) butter

For garnishing
1/4 red onion, sliced very thinly
1 spring onion, chopped finely
a handful of chopped fresh coriander

Procedure
1. Saute ginger and garlic until golden brown.
2. Add the chilli powder, then the turmeric–don’t let them burn, then add the lamb chops to sear.
3. Add the tomatoes and salt.
4. Wait until the tomato juice runs, and the liquid separates from the rendering fat.
5. Just before turning off the stove, add the grated ginger that was set aside and the butter. When the butter melts, turn off the stove.
6. Garnish before serving.

 

I now have better pictures….

3 responses to “Lamb chop masala (Vicky Bhogal’s)

Share your thoughts